How To Watch The Magi Series In The Easiest Order

Magi is a Japanese anime series. It is an adventure series, written and illustrated by Shinobu Ohtaka. There are three different, separate series of the anime, and a preferred way to watch them. 

How Many Series Are There?

There are three series of Magi as follows: 

Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic (2012)

Magi: The Kingdom of Magic (2013)

Magi: Adventure of Sinbad (2016)

How To Watch The Magi Series In The Easiest Order

What Is The Show About? 

Each series of Magi is different, so it is necessary to understand what happens in each series. The show features familiar characters such as Ali Baba, Sinbad, and Aladdin. 

The world of Magi is enchanting and colorful, with nostalgic references to Arabian Nights, Aladdin and Sinbad the Sailor. The world is bright, and is a mythical recreation of an ancient old world, where some places have similarities with real counterparts of the world. 

Magi: The Labyrinth Of Magic

This is the first series of Magi, and is one of the most popular. It was broadcasted from 2012-2013, lasting five months. 

To give an overview of the series, in the ancient fantasy world, all beings have something called Rukh. After death, Rukh returns into the world, and gives life to all subsequent beings in a cycle of rebirth, called ‘fate’.

If a person demonstrates emotions such as sadness, anger, or despair, their Rukh becomes rocky. The Rukh is a metaphor for life, courage, and karma. 

In the series, there are also magic castles which contain treasures and traps which are known as ‘dungeons’, and contain a powerful magic being called a Djinn.

When characters overcome the trials and earn the respect of the Djinn, they are then known as Dungeon Capturers.

Once they come Dungeon Capturers, they possess a capability to use powers which are encased in a personal item called a ‘Metal Vessel’, and they can create ‘household vessels’ for their friends, too.

Characters can use their Rukh to form an energy called Magoi, where they can power their abilities and weaponry. This can be used to perform magic, and these characters are known as Magi. 

In the first series, a boy named Aladdin travels the world with his friend Ugo, after being isolated for his whole life. Ugo is the Djinn within Aladdin’s flute. He meets Alibaba, a man who wants to explore dungeon Amon to find its secrets and treasures. 

They become friends and explore and conquer Amon, whilst fighting Jamil and his slave warriors in the dungeon. Alibaba claims the dungeon, while the Djinn Amon appears to Aladdin, telling his he is a Magi and Alibaba is the King’s candidate. 

Aladdin ends up teleported to a faraway land, where he learns about Magi, and that he is indeed one himself. Aladdin encounters Sinbad, who is now king of the Island Sindria, and has been robbed by thieves.

They reunite with Alibaba, where he has joined The Fog Troupe, thieves against the tyranny of King Abhmad (Alibaba’s half-brother). Alibaba has the King banished. 

They then are brought to Sindria, where they train under Sinbad to become experts in Magi to stop the group called Al-Thamen who spread chaos in the world. They meet Hakuryuu Ren who is a prince visiting, and they conquer the dungeon Zagan.

Aladdin later joins a magician academy, and Alibaba trains elsewhere to become a better fighter. 

A year later, Aladdin and Alibaba reunite, to conquer Magnostadt. The whole plot of Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic, revolves around these characters, and their conquering of different dungeons, fighting off bad forces and learning to live with their powers. 

Magi: The Kingdom Of Magic

Magi: The Kingdom of Magic, is a sequel to the previous series of Magi. It was broadcast from 2013-2014, over the span of five months.

The main characters Aladdin, Alibaba and Morgiana continue their adventures in the magical Kingdom of Magnostadt, which is a land ruled by magicians (Magi), as well as the Reim Empire, which is protected by the Magi Scheherazade.

Magi Scheherazade is one of the four main Magi in the series, and she has been ruling the Reim Empire for over two hundred years. The second series follow the characters going their irrespective ways, and furthering their skills in magic as well as fighting.

However, they all come together again to face a new threat as war soon begins, and they have to use their powers to fight. 

Magi: Adventure Of Sinbad

Magi: Adventure of Sinbad, is a spin-off series of The Labyrinth of Magic. There are thirteen episodes which were broadcast from April to July 2016. This series follows the origins and adventures of Sinbad, who years later becomes the ruler of Sindria.

The series covers the loss of Sinbad’s father, Badr, due to the violence against the Rem Empire. Sinbad spends his earlier years helping affected locals as well as his ill mother. He then meets Yunan, but does not know he is a Magi.

Yunan becomes Sinbad’s guide and mentor, and teaches him Magi as well as swordsmanship. Sinbad challenges the Dungeon Baal, where the treasures have not yet been claimed, even though thousands have tried, and met their death trying.

After Sinbad defeats Drakon (ruler/general of Sindria), he conquers Baal, becoming an ally of the Djinn within Baal. Sinbad becomes the very first Dungeon Capturer, then returns home to start his journey to change the world and fight for the greater good. 

In Which Order Is It Best To Watch Magi? 

It is best to watch Magi in release order, so with the Adventure of Sinbad being your last watch. The first series, Labyrinth of Magic, is the best to watch first.

This is because it is the establishing series, and it will introduce you and acquaint you with all the main characters, antagonists and worlds within the series. Then, you can continue on to the second and third series, where you will follow these characters in these worlds. 

If you are interested in Anime and are well acquainted, it can be fun to watch Magi in chronological order (Sinbad, Labyrinth, then Kingdom), as you can get a better experience with   and plot that you may have looked over at the start.