Which Demon Slayers Die In Demon Slayer?

Finished reading the Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba manga and want a recap of all the Demon Slayers who die?

If you haven’t finished the manga series or are still watching the anime (which is still ongoing), be warned as there are major spoilers ahead for both the manga and anime!

It goes without saying that it is no easy job being a Demon Slayer. Even the Hashira, the most powerful Demon Slayers to exist, struggle against the demons, especially when they have to face one of the Twelve Kizuki.

Muzan Kibutsuji, the lord of all the demons and the most powerful demon in Demon Slayer, does not make it easy for the Demon Slayers in the final, epic showdown. And whether you have finished the story or not, it’s expected that some of the Demon Slayers lose their lives in the process.

Down below, we list all the Demon Slayers who die in Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba. This includes permanent Demon Slayer deaths from the manga and anime, listed in chronological order.

Which Demon Slayers Die In Demon Slayer

All Demon Slayer Deaths

Read on to find out all the known deaths of Demon Slayers, listed in chronological order. The list includes deaths in the Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba manga, as well as the Demon Slayers that have died so far in the anime.

Final Warning: Major Spoilers Ahead From The Manga And Anime

1. Yoriichi Tsugikuni

Yoriichi Tsugikuni is only seen in flashbacks. He is considered to be the first-ever Demon Slayer, and therefore the Demon Slayer who created the first Breathing Style, Sun Breathing (Hinokami Kagura).

Yoriichi is a legend among the Demon Slayer Corps. He is the mysterious Demon Slayer seen in Muzan’s flashback who almost slew Muzan.

Tanijro Kamado, the main protagonist of Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, shares many similarities with Yoriichi – such as his Breathing Style, Nichirin Blade, earrings, and Demon Slayer Mark – and is considered to be Yoriichi’s successor, destined to finish off Muzan.

In the manga, it’s explained that Yoriichi Tsugikuni died a natural death of old age.

2. Masachika Kumeno

Little is known about Masachika Kumeno, but he was one of the earlier Demon Slayers who existed before the main story.

Masachika Kumeno was a good friend of Sanemi Shinazugawa, the Wind Hashira. Masachika found Sanemi one day, took him under his wing, and arranged for him to train to become a Demon Slayer.

In a manga fight scene between the two Demon Slayers and Ubume, Lower Moon One of the Twelve Kizuki, Masachika dies.

Sanemi Shinazugawa later on becomes the Wind Hashira, seen at the end of season one of the anime.

3. Kanae Kocho

Kanae Kocho is also only seen in flashbacks and talked about by her younger sisters Shinobu Kocho and Kanao Tsuyuri.

Shinobu Kocho is her younger biological sister, and Kanao Tsuyuri is their adoptive sister (the youngest). Kanae Kocho shares a similar appearance to Kanao, wearing the same pink and green butterfly accessory that Kanao wears.

Kanae dies before the events of the main story take place, at the hands of Doma, Upper Rank Two of the Twelve Kizuki.

4. Ozaki

Ozaki is a Demon Slayer seen in both the manga and anime of Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba.

In the Natagumo Mountain Arc, where Tanjiro Kamado and Inosuke Hashibira confront the Demon Spider Family, Ozaki is killed by the Mother Spider Demon, who was controlling her to attack the other Demon Slayers.

Tanjiro tried to save Ozaki, despite Ozaki’s warnings, but in the end the Mother Spider Demon used her threads to kill everyone she was controlling, which included Ozaki.

5. Kyojuro Rengoku

Kyojuro Rengoku, the Flame Hashira, has the most famous death scene in the Demon Slayer story to date. It happens in the Mugen Train Arc, of which there is an anime movie adaptation.

In the final scene of Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba: Mugen Train, Rengoku faces off with Akaza, Upper Moon Three of the Twelve Kizuki. Rengoku matches the demon in speed and strength, but suffers grave wounds that led to a gradual death.

Akaza, alive but also injured, flees into the forest to escape the rising run.

Before dying, Rengoku gives Tanjiro and his friends his blessing, before telling him to seek more information about Hinokami Kagura (Sun Breathing) at his family home.

6. Shinobu Kocho

As mentioned above, Shinobu Kocho is the younger biological sister of Kanae Kocho. She is the Insect Hashira and therefore one of the most powerful Demon Slayers in the story.

In the Infinity Castle Arc of the manga, Shinobu faces off with Doma, the Upper Moon Two Demon who killed her older sister, Kanae. Despite putting up a good fight, Shinobu is eventually killed by Doma, having become exhausted and fatally injured from the battle.

7. Genya Shinazugawa

Genya Shinazugawa is Sanemi Shinazugawa’s (the Wind Hashira) younger brother, and also the Demon Slayer who passed Final Selection alongside Tanjiro Kamado and Zenitsu Agatsuma.

Like Shinobu Kocho, Genya also dies in the Infinity Castle Arc of the manga, but is killed later on by Kokushibo, Upper Moon One of the Twelve Kizuki.

Alongside his brother Sanemi and other Hashira Muichiro Tokito and Gyomei Himejima, he fights with Kokoshibo but proves to be too weak as a regular Demon Slayer. He is cut in half by Kokushibo, to Sanemi’s despair. 

8. Muichiro Tokito

Muichiro Tokito, the Mist Hashira, is widely considered to be one of the most powerful Hashira, despite his young age.

But in the battle against Kokushibio, Upper Moon One – alongside Genya, Sanemi, and Gyomei – Muichiro Tokito also loses his life after the death of Genya Shinazugawa. Towards the end of the battle, Muichiro is dismembered several times by Kokushibo, leading to his death.

9. Mitsuri Kanroji

Mitsuri Kanroji is the Love Hashira and the strongest female Demon Slayer in Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba.

After the Infinity Castle gets destroyed, a final battle takes place against the Demon Lord, Muzan Kibutsuji, involving the last of the Hashira and the main Demon Slayers of the story – including Tanjiro, Inozuke, Zenitsu, and Kanao.

Despite being the strongest female Demon Slayer, Mitsuri Kanroji meets her match against Muzan and ends up sacrificing herself.

10. Obanai Iguro

Obanai Iguro, the Serpent Hashira, is another Demon Slayer that dies in the final battle against Muzan.

Obanai, as one of the strongest members of the Hashira, proves vital throughout the fight. Despite this, Obanai dies with Mitsuri Kanroji after Muzan’s defeat.

He is also fatally wounded during the battle and, while holding Mitsuri in his arms as she dies, subsequently succumbs to his own wounds.

11. Gyomei Himejima

Gyomei Himejima is well-known to be the strongest Hashira. He is the Stone Hashira, which is stated to be the strongest of the pillars in the manga.

Gyomei also dies, however, in the final showdown against Muzan. Gyomei survives the fight, but dies after Muzan’s defeat due to fatal injuries, including the complete dismemberment of his leg.

Despite this, Gyomei dies peacefully, accepting that he gave his best.


Listed above are all the big deaths in Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba, specifically the manga series, as the anime is still ongoing. The first three deaths happen before the main story (involving Tanjiro) takes place.

This means that Tanjiro, Inosuke, Zenitsu, Nezuko, and Kanao – the central Demon Slayer characters – survive until the end, plus six of the nine Hashira: Giyu Tomioka, Sanemi Shinazugawa, and Uzui Tengen.